Letter to the Editor: Sipperley’s Endorsement of Tortarella , Traudt & Sanchez

2/26/17

I am deeply honored to recommend for re-election to the Rhinebeck Village Board of Trustees, Heath Tortarella for Mayor, Howie Traudt for Trustee, and William Sanchez for Judge.

I have known these elected officials for years and find that they are eminently qualified to continue to serve the residents of the Village of Rhinebeck.

Heath has served 4 years on the Board including 3 as Mayor, Howie has served 8 years on the Board, and Judge Sanchez has served 21 years.  I have known Judge Sanchez the longest and he and Judge John Kane have served the Town-Village judiciary with absolute distinction.

Heath is an Army Officer who served in Iraq and is presently in the Army Reserve.  He is a member of American Legion Post 429 and Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 9255.

Fortunately or unfortunately, public service these days is a bit more complicated than in previous years and I believe the continued support of these elected officials is paramount.

Sarah Burke is well qualified to run as a new candidate for Village Trustee.  Her father, the late Kenneth Burke, was Village Judge for years until health issues forced his retirement.

For residents who are new to the community, I think I am qualified to make these recommendations.  I served 2 years as Village Trustee, 28 years as Mayor, 9 years as Village Highway Superintendent, and in more recent years I was brought out of retirement by Governor Andrew Cuomo to serve on the Board of Directors for the Black Car Workers Compensation Board in New York City.  I am presently in the 5th year of a 9 year obligation at the age of 80; 44 years in public service.  I don’t think anyone is going to top that one for a while.
Peter F Sipperley