MAYOR TORTARELLA ANNOUNCES BID FOR RE-ELECTION

Today, I announce my candidacy for re-election as Mayor of the Village of Rhinebeck.  I have served on the Village Board for 4 years, with the last 3 as your Mayor.  I was born at Northern Dutchess Hospital, attended K-12 at Rhinebeck Schools and enjoyed growing up here.  My wife and I made the decision to raise our family here just as my parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents did.  My voter registration reads No Official Party (NOP) and in the three years that I have been elected I have appeared on the Democratic line three times and the Republican line twice.  Due to a variety of circumstances, I have had the responsibility of appointing three Trustees to the Village Board.  Each time I consulted with the other members of the board and looked for the best person, regardless of party affiliation.  I chose one Republican, one Democrat, and one fellow NOP.  There may be a place for party politics, but in my opinion the Village of Rhinebeck is not that place.  I am committed to representing Village residents regardless of party affiliation and feel there is no excuse for contaminating the function of local government with the divisiveness we have become accustomed to during national and even state political races.  Please visit Mayor Heath Tortarella on Facebook for more information.  I welcome you to check back regularly, as I will follow up with additional posts that highlight recent accomplishments of your Village government and our goals for the near future.  I hope you agree that the Village of Rhinebeck is a wonderful place to live and invite you to join our continued quest to balance progress with preservation that has attracted so many residents and visitors to our Village.  HUMBLY, I ASK FOR YOUR VOTE ON TUESDAY, MARCH 21ST.