LABOR DAY WEEKEND SEPTEMBER 3-4, 2016 | 11AM-5PM | 27 OPEN STUDIOS | FREE EVENT

The 9th annual Art Studio Views is a free, self-guided tour designed to promote the artwork and talents of local artists in Northern Dutchess & Southern Columbia counties, along the Route 9 & 9G corridor. Twenty-seven artists from Hyde Park, Rhinebeck, Red Hook, Tivoli, and Germantown will open their studios to the public, share their creative environments, and help visitors understand the inspiration that drives their passions.

Spearheaded by the artists themselves, Art Studio Views is supported by local sponsors who, through their generous support, enable artists to host this open studio event. Please support the businesess that support the Arts!

 

Check it all out at: www.artstudioviews.com

 

sunrise_marsh9x12.jpg

ABOUT THE ARTIST

9TH ANNUAL ART STUDIO VIEWS TOUR
LABOR DAY WEEKEND 

 

 

ARTIST TARRYL GABEL

 

I can always remember wanting to be an artist.  I grew up on a cattle ranch on the Fort Berthold Reservation in North Dakota and was greatly influenced and encouraged by my grandfather.  He was a self-taught Western Artist (when he was not farming and ranching, he painted those long North Dakota winters).

 

During my early years I wanted to be wildlife and western artist.  Closely copying from photos and believing that the more photorealistic I could paint, the better I would be.  I continued to paint on and off over the years, but it was not until I entered a local plein air event ten years ago that I was hooked on painting from life.

 

Plein air is now my passion, and art is now my full-time occupation. My favorite time to paint is sunrise. I feel an adrenalin rush, painting quickly to capture the dramatic early morning light. I love the stillness of the morning and the sounds as the world awakes, although I would be very happy to never hear another mosquito or black fly buzzing!

 

Since plein air has become such a popular movement among artists, I have been able to paint side by side with many of the best from across the country. Entering these juried events, I have been able to travel, meeting new artists, and making new friends and collectors along the way. I still love to paint western-themed and still-life works in the studio when I cannot be outdoors.

 

I am fortunate to have a loving and supportive husband who does not mind helping me with my art business.  I now have a studio / gallery space in our home, a dream come true. This will be the fourth Art Studio Views I have been able to participate in since building the studio and I am happy and excited to invite the public in to see my studio and share “my happy place”. Every year more and more paintings find their way to new homes as a result of this Art Studio Views weekend.  I get many repeat and loyal buyers coming by during this weekend and I get to welcome the chance to meet many new art appreciators.

 

8 Wagon Wheel Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

http://www.Tarryl.com

home 845-452-8715, cell 845-702-5356