Letter to the Editor : 1 of 3,519 Expand all Print all In new window Budget Vote and Board Election tomorrow May 17th, 2016 from 2p-9p

Tomorrow, May 17, we are being asked to approve the 2016-2017 school budget and elect 3 officers to the Board of Education. I am completing my first term on the Board and ask for your support in re-electing me to my seat.

The past 3 years have been incredibly rewarding, and I feel I have

  • been an important voice in expanding communication to parents and the community through my work on the Communications Committee,
  • served on the Curriculum Committee to provide time and financial support for our teachers to develop thoughtful and meaningful curriculum for our students, and
  • worked collaboratively with parents, teachers and administrators to engage in dialogue about the future of our schools through the CDEP (Comprehensive District Education Plan) committee.

A strong school system is the heart of a strong community. To meet the needs of our students, we must work together to develop new ways to support our kids and our teachers despite uncertain financial support from NY State and a shrinking population.

I look forward to working with my colleagues to develop long range plans for continued strength and success in Rhinebeck and hope you are willing to give me that chance.

Please come out to vote tomorrow, May 17 between 2p-9p at the Bulkeley Middle School Cafeteria. Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me or any of my colleagues. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you and hope that you will consider forwarding this email to any community members who might be interested.

My best,

Laura Schulkind