Lesa Cline-Ransome’s Writerhood: My Princely Legacy

His call came at 1:00. I was sitting at my desk, revising a manuscript when I answered. I still get little shockwaves of panic whenever one of the kids call my cell. A million and one scenarios cross my mind in the split second it takes to answer,

“Hello.”

“Did you hear?” my son asked. “Prince died.”unnamed

Again a million and one thoughts—Prince Harry? Prince William? Since when was my son interested in the royal family?

“Your Prince,” he said.

“That’s not true,” I shouted into the phone. “Prince isn’t dead.” He couldn’t be. I did a quick search online. No. My son offered his condolences and we hung up.

My daughter called next.

“Mom, are you okay?” she asked concerned.

My other daughter called on her way home from work. “I’m sorry mom.” she offered.

Prince wasn’t a friend or a relative. Outside of my fantasies, we had no romantic entanglements, but he was part of my kids’ legacy.

READ ON:  https://lclineransome.wordpress.com/2016/04/22/my-princely-legacy/