Ulster County District Attorney: I have been asked to comment on a posting on Ulster County Sheriff Paul VanBlarcum’s webpage.

News from the Office of Ulster County District Attorney D. Holley Carnright

I have been asked to comment on a posting on Ulster County Sheriff Paul VanBlarcum’s webpage.

First, let me say that I have complete confidence in Paul.  I find him to be thoughtful and direct and a bona fide asset to our community that he proudly serves.

I am at a loss to explain this unprecedented carnage which we are experiencing in this country and around the world.  I do not know what the answer is. Though I fully support our right to bear arms and to defend ourselves I am not convinced more guns in the hands of untrained or unskilled civilians is the answer and nor do I believe does the Sheriff. I discourage anyone from misreading the Sheriff’s comments.

I think it is better to prevent than to respond.  Our best course is, if you see something, say something. Common among all of these atrocities is that they are not random nor unplanned.  In all of these situations we hear, after the fact, comments from family or associates who saw signs but did not take any action.

Perhaps more than ever our response as a community should be cautioned and thoughtful. Ulster County is blessed with an exceptionally trained and proficient law enforcement community.  I would discourage any action where untrained or unskilled citizens create an opportunity for unintended tragedy which could pose risk not only to innocent citizens but to our own law enforcement personnel